Your Steering Committee


MICHAEL WILSON – Co-Chair. Michael has been an arts educator for 50 years at all levels of public education. He has been deeply involved with teacher education in the arts since 1970, in association with 2 Ontario universities. He has written extensively in topics ranging from foundations of the arts, teacher education, artist partnerships and aesthetic experience. He has been involved in many arts education organizations over the years at local, regional, provincial, national and international levels. In 2012, he published the book “In a Grain of Sand: A New Vision for Arts Education” (Stratford : Drama.Focus Arts Consulting Group).


 MADELEINE AUBREY– Co-Chair. Madeleine is president of MADARTE Inc., an art education consulting firm specializing in the area art education curriculum, policy and assessment, evaluation of arts resources, curriculum development and in-service training. During her long career in art education she has been a visual arts specialist, an arts consultant and an education officer with the Ministry of Education of the province of Ontario. She has worked as a reporter for arts education consultations in Canada for the Canadian Commission for UNESCO and as an art consultant for several television art series for TVO. During the past three years she has been co-chair of the NRTEA. She is also vice-president of the Canadian Association of the Club of Rome.


AUDREY CHURGIN. Audrey is a visual and sound artist, who professionally collaborated with children for many years. She is represented in Ottawa by Galerie St. Laurent-Hill, and has exhibited her extensive collection of drawings and pastels across North America, in Montreal, Toronto, Washington and Scottsdale. Her collaborative audio work is included in several radio collections, and has been broadcast in North America and Europe, and in Chile. Samples of her work can be seen and heard on-line at, and at the Galerie St.Laurent-Hill web site, In addition to dedicated work on volunteer boards, such as the Ottawa School of Speech and Drama, Cultural Human Resource Council, and the Canadian Association for Sound Ecology, Audrey has been a teacher for over two decades at the Ottawa School of Art. She also worked for many years as the National Director for CARFAC, the Canadian visual artist advocacy organization. Audrey is currently serving as Executive Director for MASC, a regional arts education organization bringing artists in all disciplines into schools.


MARIA ROBINSON-CSEKE. Maria is an arts educator who spent fifteen years as a visual arts and photography teacher in the high school setting. She was the lead writer for the Photography support documents of the current Ontario Arts Curriculum at the secondary level. She received a PhD in arts education from the University of Alberta and her research interests include artist/teacher post-identity, art teacher education, visual culture, and arts-based research. She sits on the executive of MASC, promoting artists in schools, and is a visual arts examiner for the International Baccalaureate program. Maria continues to create her own visual art and is currently teaching arts education at the Faculty of Education, University of Ottawa.


GENEVIÈVE CLOUTIER. Geneviève is a mother, artist, researcher, and teacher who received a bachelor of Media Arts from Emily Carr University of Art and Design. She is currently an on-call english/art teacher, a PhD student, and a Teaching Assistant at the University of Ottawa. Her arts-based research interests include language, pedagogy, spatiality, relationality, public space, and alternative education. She is a member of Blink Art Collective in Ottawa, Ontario.

Photo on 2016-02-29 at 1.10 PM #4.jpg

LYNN TUCKER. Lynn Tucker is an Associate Professor, Teaching Stream in Music at the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), and is currently serving as Acting Chair for the Department of Arts, Culture and Media (ACM). Engaging students in music and lifelong participation in the arts is at the forefront of her work, with research interests in community music, avocational music-making, and leadership. She is active in growing the UTSC Music and Culture program, further developing musical opportunities for anyone interested in continuing their participation with music, regardless of career path. Lynn served as Director of Arts & Events Programming from 2008-2014, with responsibilities including the oversight of all artistic, cultural and scholarly co-curricular programming on behalf of ACM (formerly for the Department of Humanities). Further, she has taught instrumental music in both public and private schools systems to students in grades 5-12, and has served as an adjudicator at numerous festivals in Ontario. She is the former Department Head of Music at Lower Canada College in Montreal, the former Music Director at MacGregor Collegiate Institute in Manitoba, and founding Chairperson of the Quebec Band Association. Most recently, she is the 2015 recipient of the Canadian Music Educators’ Association Excellence in Leadership award.


SHARON SMITH. Sharon Smith works and teaches in Montreal, Quebec. She has obtained degrees from McGill Univ. (B.A.), Univ. of California at Berkeley (Teaching Certificate, K-high school), Concordia Univ. (Fine Arts- Major Art Education) and Vanier College (early childhood-preschool education). Sharon has studied Rudolf Steiner and Reggio Emelia philosophies. Sharon’s experience includes working with people of all ages from pre-school to seniors. Currently she teaches, paints and provides art consultation at all levels. She gives classes, workshops, seminars and individual instruction with a focus on watercolour and creativity in art.


ALEXA-ELIZA CARTER. Lex is a teacher candidate in the new two-year B.Ed. program’s  Imagination, Creativity, and Innovation Cohort at the University of Ottawa (UO). She believes that arts education creates space for creative personal expression and imaginative innovation that is fundamental  to learning.

She holds a B.A. in Psychology and Communications at UO and is half way through her M.Ed. in Teaching, Learning, and Evaluation. She hopes to pursue her Ph.D. in equitable alternative modes of education. Currently, she is co-chair for the ASTCC, a member of the Creativity Aesthetic Experience Committee and on the student council for FESA.